Swansea College of Art host BEEP International Painting Prize


University of Wales Trinity Saint David’s Faulty of Art and Design are proud to be hosting the BEEP International painting Prize at the Swansea College of Art. 

Fifty finalists have been selected by BEEP International Painting Prize founder Jonathan Powell, the overall winner will be chosen on Thursday August 4 by judges Shani Rhys James and Jonathan Watkins. James is a multi-award-winning painter based in Wales, while Watkins is a highly respected curator and director of Ikon Gallery in Birmingham.

The first stage of the BEEP touring exhibition will take place on Friday 5th August, where the winner will be announced.

Fifty painters from all over the world have been shortlisted for BEEP International Painting Prize, Wales’s only large scale contemporary international painting exhibition. They will have their work shown in the BEEP exhibition, which tours Wales this autumn.

The exhibition will remain in Swansea until September 3rd and then open in Undegun, Regent Street, Wrexham on October 7th before moving to ARCADECARDIFF, in the Queen’s Arcade, Cardiff on November 16th.

The BEEP International Painting Prize winner will be given £1000 and a solo exhibition with Elysium Gallery, Swansea in 2017. The people’s prize winner will be announced at the end of the Wrexham exhibition and will receive £250.

BEEP founder Jonathan Powell said: “The quality of work submitted for this year’s prize has been outstanding. We’ve had an overwhelming response this year and have seen a huge surge of interest with extremely high quality entries from artists from all over the world. It will be a superb show and I suspect the judges will find it hard to single out a winner.”

Shortlisted artists are:

Susan Absolon, Sinead Aldridge, Kayde Anobile, Tom Banks, Pip Barrett, Jo Berry, Heather Brammeier, Philip Cheater, Jenny Chisolm, Minyoung Choi, Michelle Conway, Daniel Crawshaw, Paul Crook, Eugenia Cuellar, Gordon Dalton, Lara Davies, Lisa Denyer, Tom Down, Heather Eastes, Andrew Ekins, Louise Giovanelli, Gabriela Giroletti, Penny Hallas, Sky Kim, Ilona Kiss (image), Arron Kuiper, Paraic Leahy, Susanna Lisle, Catrin Llwydd, Jaya Mansberger, Enzo Marra, Mary McCrae, Anna McNeil, Liam O’Connor, Alan Rees-Davies, Andre Stitt, Eifion Sven-Myer, Mircea Teleaga, Christopher Twigg, Richard Twose, Francisco Valdes, Lois Wallace, Tim Warren, Ian Watson, Laura Welsman, Fran Williams, Richard Williams, Camilla Wilson, Tong Zhang.

For more information about BEEP International Painting Prize, visit www.beepwales.co.uk

Note to Editor

  1. For more information please contact Sara Jones, PR and Communications Officer, on 01267 225 108 / 07449 998 478 or via email at sara.f.jones@uwtsd.ac.uk