Learned Society of Wales elects new Fellow from UWTSD


The Learned Society of Wales has this year named UWTSD academic Professor Menna Elfyn among the new Fellows elected to the Society from across the arts, humanities, sciences and public service sectors.

Menna Elfyn

Professor Menna Elfyn, one of the most recognised Welsh writers on the international stage, travels the world reading her work and championing Welsh and other minority languages. She is the author of over 20 books and 18 in translation.  Professor Menna Elfyn, director of Creative Writing at the University of Wales Trinity Saint David has inspired a generation of aspiring writers. Her bi-lingual collections of poetry have given access to Welsh literature to hundreds of Welsh learners.

Responding to the news Professor Menna Elfyn said: As a Professor of Poetry and Creative Writing I feel privileged to be elected as a Fellow of this important Society and hopefully I can make a substantial contribution to the Society in the field of literature and culture.  I’d like to thank the Learned Society of Wales for this wonderful honour.”

Meena 3 T4

The Learned Society of Wales has also included UWTSD Honorary Fellow, Professor Meena Upadhyaya OBE on this year’s fellowship list.  Professor Upadhyaya OBE was appointed an Honorary Fellow of the University of Wales Trinity Saint David during one of the University’s graduation ceremonies in Swansea last year.  Professor Upadhyaya has worked in medical molecular genetics since the discipline’s infancy and is recognised as the first female British-Indian professor in medical genetics in the UK. 

The Learned Society of Wales (LSW) is an independent, all-Wales, self-governing, pan-discipline educational Royal Charter charity,  providing public benefit including expert scholarly advice on a variety of public policy issues related to science, engineering, medicine, arts, humanities and social sciences.  Established in 2010, the Society draws upon the considerable strengths of nearly 500 distinguished Fellows based in Wales, the UK and beyond.  This election further strengthens the Society’s Fellowship by adding 42 new Fellows to its ranks. The Society now has just under 500 Fellows, distinguished men and women from all branches of learning who are prominent figures within their respective academic disciplines or professions. This year 35% of the new Fellows are female. 

Sir Emyr Jones Parry, the Society’s President, said: “I am delighted to welcome such a wide range of outstanding individuals to the Fellowship this year. Their election is recognition of excellence and achievement. They and their work are an inspiration to the nation. Fellows are elected on merit, and again the number of female Fellows is growing.”

Further Information

For more information please contact Arwel Lloyd, Principal PR and Communications Officer, on 01267 676663 / Arwel.Lloyd@uwtsd.ac.uk