Learned Society of Wales elects new Fellows


The Learned Society of Wales has elected a leading academic from the University of Wales Trinity Saint David among the newly elected Fellows.


Forty-eight new Fellows have joined the Learned Society of Wales this year from across the arts, humanities, sciences, and beyond. Each new Fellow has contributed to the world of learning as researchers, academics, and professionals – and all come with a strong connection to Wales.

Election to the Fellowship is a public recognition of excellence, is keenly competed, and takes place following a rigorous examination of each nominee’s achievements in their relevant field(s).

Matthew Jarvis 2

Professor Matthew Jarvis, Anthony Dyson Fellow in Poetry at University of Wales Trinity Saint David, lecturer in Literature and Place at Aberystwyth University, co-Chair of the Association for Welsh Writing English, and lead editor of the International Journal of Welsh Writing in English is among the new Fellows.

Professor Jarvis said, “I moved to Wales in 1994, and it has become both my home and the focus of my scholarly research. I have been made welcome here by a great many people in very many ways, and have been especially privileged to contribute to the developing field of Wales Studies. So it’s a particular honour to be elected as a Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales.”

Sir Emyr Jones Parry, President of the Learned Society of Wales, said “I am delighted to welcome 48 new Fellows to the Society. Their election recognises their individual achievements and additions to the world of learning and I am pleased that they encompass such a range of research disciplines and beyond. The addition of these new Fellows will strength our capacity to champion excellence across all areas of academic and public life in Wales and abroad.”

Established in 2010, the Learned Society of Wales uses the knowledge of its experts to promote research, inspire learning, and provide independent policy advice. The yearly addition of new Fellows aids the Society in achieving these aims.

The 2019 election is the ninth in a rolling process towards the building of a strong, representative Fellowship. The Society’s continuing focus on excellence and achievement will ensure that the Fellowship represents the very best of learning that Wales has to offer.

The full list of new Fellows elected is available here.

Further Information

For further information or to arrange interviews, please contact the Society’s Communications and Engagement Officer, Ruby Moore:

rmoore@lsw.wales.ac.uk / 029 2037 5054


Arwel Lloyd, Principal PR and Communications Officer, on 01267 676663 / arwel.lloyd@uwtsd.ac.uk