Press Releases 2014-2015

Prize Award for Students Studying Though Adversity


University of Wales Trinity Saint David (UWTSD) Swansea has teamed up with the Old Dy'vorians Association (ODA) to reward six first-year students who have worked through adversity to achieve academic excellence.

Anna BrayshawThe ODA has been in existence since 1930 and serves as a platform for past pupils and Masters of the old Dynevor School to initiate and maintain contact with each other. In 2002, the School closed after 109 years, having moulded some of the city's greatest and most influential people. In 2005, UWTSD Swansea (then Swansea Metropolitan University) completed a refurbishment of the former School site which is now home to the University's Faculty of Art and Design.

The President's Prize was traditionally awarded to a deserving and distinguished pupil at the former Dynevor School. In a demonstration of the links now forged between the University and the ODA, the annual prize was restored in 2005 to reward UWTSD Swansea students who have combined hardship with excellence during their first year of study.

Cheques for £230 were presented, by ODA Vice-President Professor Dudley Sinnett, to the six deserving students who were nominated by their lecturers. These were: photography student Lara Jones, from Swansea; fine art student Jaqueline Phillips, from Llanelli; psychology and counselling student Anna Brayshaw, from Taunton; web development student Nathan Buller, from Swansea; and tourism management students Carys Spencer, from Swansea, and Rachel Revis, from Greater Manchester.

Professor Mike Phillips, UWTSD Pro Vice-Chancellor, said: “What we have seen during the presentation is people facing adversity and triumphing. I have been touched by all of the stories. We are a university that widens access and is open to all. The rewards of being such a university are incalculable.”

Professor Dudley Sinnett, ODA President, said: “On behalf of the ODA I would like to thank UWTSD for the involvement that they have with us as an association; it means a lot to us. We feel that this awards ceremony is very important to the students being celebrated and to representatives of the old Dynevor School.”


Carys Spencer     Jaqueline Phillips (centre)

 Nathan Buller (centre)    Rachel Revis

Lara Jones

Note to Editor

  1. The University of Wales Trinity Saint David was established in 2010 through the merger of the University of Wales Lampeter and Trinity University College, Carmarthen. On 1 August 2013 the Swansea Metropolitan University merged with the University.
  2. The University’s Royal Charter 1828 is the oldest in Wales, and it is third behind Oxford and Cambridge in Wales and England. HRH Prince of Wales is the Patron of the University.
  3. On 1 August, 2013 Coleg Sir Gâr merged with the University of Wales Trinity Saint David Group, however they will keep their own brand. Coleg Ceredigion merged with the Group on 1 January 2014.

Further Information

Steven Stokes
Principal Corporate Communications and PR Officer
07872 423788